Skip to main content
Please wait...

Council Members

Tribal Council
COUNCIL MEMBERS

The Tribal Council is a governing body made up of democratically elected Cowlitz Indian Tribe members. It governs matters related to economic development, land management, service delivery, judicial matters and the Tribe's cultural integrity, weighing future needs against current ones and making balanced decisions about issues that impact the Tribe’s members and the broader community. The Tribal Council also exercises legislative powers regarding Tribal membership and enrollment, and negotiates with federal, state and local governments, and with the councils or governments of other tribes.

Voting in the Tribal elections is open to all enrolled Cowlitz Indian Tribe members 18 and older.

Name

Position

Term End

Email

Patty Kinswa-Gaiser

General Council Chair

2024

Pkinswa-gaiser@tc.cowlitz.org

Greg Hitchcock

General Council Vice-Chair

2023

ghitchcock@tc.cowlitz.org

Celine Cloquet

General Council Treasurer

2023

ccloquet@tc.cowlitz.org

Whitney Mosback

General Council Secretary

2024

wmosback@tc.cowlitz.org

Steve Barnett

Tribal Council Chair

2024

sbarnett@tc.cowlitz.org

Kimberly Appelt

Tribal Council Vice-Chair

2023

kappelt@tc.cowlitz.org

William (Bill) Erickson

Tribal Council Secretary

2024

werickson@tc.cowlitz.org

Robin Torner

Tribal Council at-Large

2023

rtorner@tc.cowlitz.org

Cheryl Bell

Tribal Council at-Large

2023

cbell@tc.cowlitz.org

Rod Van Mechelen

Tribal Council Member

2023

rvanmechelen@tc.cowlitz.org

Cassandra Powell

Tribal Council Member

2023

cpowell@tc.cowlitz.org

Debra Avila

Tribal Council Member

2023

davila@tc.cowlitz.org

Kris Dillehay

Tribal Council Member

2023

kdillehay@tc.cowlitz.org

Suzanne Donaldson

Tribal Council Member

2024

sdonaldson@tc.cowlitz.org

Rachael Streitberger

Tribal Council Member

2024

rstreitberger@tc.cowlitz.org

Timi Marie Russin

Tribal Council Member

2024

tmarierussin@tc.cowlitz.org

Justice Rhodes

Tribal Council Member

2024

jrhodes@tc.cowlitz.org

Maverick Ryan

Tribal Council Member

2025

mryan@tc.cowlitz.org

Cassandra Sellards-Reck

Tribal Council Member

2025

csellards-reck@tc.cowlitz.org

Kris Kitz

Tribal Council Member

2025

kkitz@tc.cowlitz.org

Vanessa Robertson

Tribal Council Member

2025

vrobertson@tc.cowlitz.org

Larry Kestner

Tribal Council Member

2025

lkestner@tc.cowlitz.org

 

 

 

 

About

The legacy of an ancient people in southwest Washington is rich with descendants who manage a growing portfolio of health, education, scientific research, housing, transportation, development, elder care, conservation and legal issues. The Cowlitz Tribe is a growing force in community building in what are now Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis and parts of Pierce, Skamania and Wahkiakum Counties, a vast territory occupied by numerous Cowlitz villages prior to non-Cowlitz exploration and seizure. Today, an elected Tribal Council is composed of professionals adept at managing multiple programs and projects.